Here is What I Read - April 2020

This month, I have really made it a point to start reading my ebooks via my Kindle app. I have owned my Kindle Paperwhite for quite a few years, but have always preferred to read a physical book. However, my goal is to get my review score on Netgalley up to 80% so that when I request pre-released books I get approved. If you missed my post on how to get free books, check it out! Netgalley is just one of the ways I get free books!


Here are the books I read this month...all 10 of them!


Just a reminder you can shop all the books I mention by visiting my Liketoknow.it page!


Click the Image to shop


Final Girls

Riley Sager

What is this book about?

Ten years ago, college student Quincy Carpenter went on vacation with five friends and came back alone, the only survivor of a horror movie–scale massacre. In an instant, she became a member of a club no one wants to belong to—a group of similar survivors known in the press as the Final Girls. Lisa, who lost nine sorority sisters to a college dropout's knife; Sam, who went up against the Sack Man during her shift at the Nightlight Inn; and now Quincy, who ran bleeding through the woods to escape Pine Cottage and the man she refers to only as Him. The three girls are all attempting to put their nightmares behind them, and, with that, one another. Despite the media's attempts, they never meet.


Now, Quincy is doing well—maybe even great, thanks to her Xanax prescription. She has a caring almost-fiancé, Jeff; a popular baking blog; a beautiful apartment; and a therapeutic presence in Coop, the police officer who saved her life all those years ago. Her memory won’t even allow her to recall the events of that night; the past is in the past.


That is, until Lisa, the first Final Girl, is found dead in her bathtub, wrists slit, and Sam, the second, appears on Quincy's doorstep. Blowing through Quincy's life like a whirlwind, Sam seems intent on making Quincy relive the past, with increasingly dire consequences, all of which makes Quincy question why Sam is really seeking her out. And when new details about Lisa's death come to light, Quincy's life becomes a race against time as she tries to unravel Sam's truths from her lies, evade the police and hungry reporters, and, most crucially, remember what really happened at Pine Cottage, before what was started ten years ago is finished.


What did I think?

Riley Sager is one of my favorite thriller authors. I grabbed this book on my last trip to Victoria and just decided to read it! This was a page turner. I definitely didn't see the end coming! This book made you go back and forth on what you thought actually happened all those years ago.


Sizzling Sixteen

Smokin' Seventeen

Explosive Eighteen

by Janet Evanovich

I thought I would knock these out in one section. If you are a reader, you have probably read at least a few of the Stephanie Plum series. I have been reading this series (which now has 26 books) for the last 7 years. I took a few year break and after staring at these three on my shelf decided to read them. They were a nice comedic break from the thrillers and more somber books I had been reading. Though the writing is getting more repetitive as the series goes on, I still really enjoy reading them!


The Perfect Girlfriend

by Karen Hamilton

What is this book about?

YOU’VE NEVER READ A LOVE STORY AS TWISTED AS THIS.


Juliette loves Nate.


She will follow him anywhere. She’s even become a flight attendant for his airline so she can keep a closer eye on him.


They are meant to be.


The fact that Nate broke up with her six months ago means nothing. Because Juliette has a plan to win him back.


She is the perfect girlfriend. And she’ll make sure no one stops her from getting exactly what she wants.


True love hurts, but Juliette knows it’s worth all the pain


What did I think?

OMG Juliette is nuts. This was a great page turner. You always wondered what she was up to and it was shocking just how far ahead she was thinking in her crazy obsessive plan. You won't see the ending coming.


Glass Dolls

by D.E. White

What is this book about?

A teenage girl is found murdered, encased in glass. Detective Dove Milson is called out to the chilling crime scene by the Devon coast. The murder is a replica of the work of serial killer Peter Hayworth, known as the Glass Doll murderer. He would be the prime suspect . . . but he’s already dead.


FOUR YEARS AGO DETECTIVE DOVE MILSON’S NIECE WAS KILLED BY THE GLASS DOLL MURDERER


Now Dove leads the case. It’s her first job as part of the Major Crimes Team. She is recovering from a breakdown a few months earlier. Then another Glass Doll is found in an isolated cove.


A TWISTED COPYCAT KILLER?


Dove finds her family is at the heart of this new case. The latest Glass Doll victims both worked at her sister Gaia’s strip club. The club’s manager found the second Glass Doll. He claims to have been in the wrong place at the wrong time, but Dove doesn’t believe in coincidences.


THEN DOVE’S SURVIVING NIECE DISAPPEARS


Will she become the next Glass Doll? Time is running out for her niece. Dove must race to catch a killer before it’s too late. Then a new lead tears a hole in the case.


What did I think?

This book was right up my alley! The first few pages hooked my attention (which is what I look for in a thriller). I was then invested in Dove trying to figure out what exactly was happening with a few of her family members, one, Eden, who had been missing for years. The book had many twists and turns and in the end I did not expect the outcome. Trust me, it isn't what you think!


Thanks to #netgalley for the copy!


I just reviewed GLASS DOLLS an addictive crime thriller with a fiendish twist by D.E. WHITE. #GLASSDOLLS


A Killer's Wife

by Victor Methos

What is this book about?

Fourteen years ago, prosecutor Jessica Yardley’s husband went to prison for a series of brutal murders. She’s finally created a life with her daughter and is a well-respected attorney. She’s moving on. But when a new rash of homicides has her ex-husband, Eddie, written all over them—the nightmares of her past come back to life.


The FBI asks Jessica to get involved in the hunt for this copycat killer—which means visiting her ex and collaborating with the man who tore her life apart.


As the copycat’s motives become clearer, the new life Jessica created for herself gets darker. She must ask herself who she can trust and if she’s capable of stopping the killer—a man whose every crime is a bloody valentine from a twisted mastermind she’s afraid she may never escape.


What did I think?

Wow! This book sure hooked me in the first few pages. I love how they used the main character and what her background provided to help catching the next suspect. At first I was disappointed with the direction of the book...but nope! It completely changed and thew me for a loop! Great read! I just reviewed A Killer's Wife by Victor Methos. #AKillersWife #NetGalley


The Final Straw

by Jenny Francis

What is this book about?

It is 2001 and Detective Inspector Charlie Moon is back with a new case!


A prisoner found hanging in his cell after serving over twenty years of a life sentence draws Moon into the investigation of a murder which took place in the 1970s – a student named Sharon Baxter who was stabbed to death and her body dumped at the side of a canal. At first nothing seems to make sense and the plot thickens with the discovery that all the files on the case have mysteriously gone missing leading Moon to suspect a police cover-up and implications going far beyond a simple miscarriage of justice.


Assisted once again by his journalist friend, Jo Lyon, Moon sets about following a trail of clues which soon reveal the chilling truth about how an innocent man came to be convicted of a crime he did not commit. Dark secrets from the past are uncovered as Moon and Jo piece together what turns out to be a harrowing tale of corruption and depravity stretching back many years. It is not long, however, before Moon is drawn into conflict with his bosses and he is forced to choose between yielding to their wishes to drop the case or putting his career on the line. Moon realises time is not on his side but will he discover who killed Sharon and why before it is too late? There is, however, one final twist to the story – a twist nobody expects not even Charlie Moon!


What did I think?

This is officially the shortest book I have read this year, but it was a page turner. Though this case is revisited after the death of the accused, I was happy to see that Moon was able to investigate and bring the correct person to justice even 30 years later. This was a quick read, but honestly was action packed and for this story I enjoyed the length of the book!


I just reviewed The Final Straw by Jenny Francis. #TheFinalStraw #NetGalley


Daisy Does it Herself

by Gracie Player

What is this book about?

Sometimes, the last place you intended to go is exactly where you need to be. When 26-year-old Daisy’s life in London comes crashing down around her, the only thing she can think of is getting away – far away. That’s how she found herself stumbling off a train in England’s picturesque Peak District – 150 miles from home, with no idea why she’d gone there and even less idea how she intended to get home. But as Daisy explores the gorgeous village of Upper Finlay, she glimpses the possibility of a different life. The Derbyshire Dales offer up new friends, new opportunities, and a distractingly dishy object of attraction in the form of local bookstore owner Alex (and his bumbling Great Dane.) When Daisy discovers Alex’s business is in trouble she steps in to save the day. But London’s Calling – literally. The life Daisy ran away from is calling her back. Why then, is she so reluctant to heed its call? Daisy’s got a decision to make: Will she play it safe, and return to what she knew? Or is she brave enough to take a leap of faith and create a bold, new life for herself in the last place she’d ever expected? Daisy Does It Herself is a heartwarming, feel-good romantic comedy in the vein of Bridget Jones’s Diary, Diary of a Shopaholic, and Big Sexy Love. Fans of warm and witty romantic comedies with a guaranteed happily-ever-after will be entranced.


What did I think?

This book was such a breath of fresh air! I love Daisy and following her fun adventure of finding herself and also finding love in the most random place. The story had me smiling the whole time and rooting for Alex and Daisy to wind up together! This was a great quick read!


I just reviewed Daisy Does it Herself by Gracie Player. #DaisyDoesitHerself #NetGalley


Gut Feeling

by Victoria Browne

What is this book about?

Ashleigh Lands is a twenty six year old dental nurse, who after meeting Dave Croft, a gorgeous twin, finds herself in an impossible dilemma. Living in the heart of London, Ashleigh and her group of friends find themselves in numerous situations, parties, traumas and sexual experiences. With Ashleigh's love cheat lawyer ex-boyfriend Lee Preston pulling on her heart strings Ashleigh goes on holiday to Ibiza with the girls; Rachel a buyer for a large child's clothing company and also Ashleigh's best friend. Beautiful Jules who works for a well-known magazine company. And Gemma a house wife who has just found out her husband was sleeping with his personal trainer. Ibiza brings the girls new friends along with love and loss. Whilst the girls are away Dave has an unwanted sexual encounter. Ashleigh returns home only to have her life thrown into turmoil. "But I heard it with my own ears". Must be true then? ? ?


What did I think?


Pin for Later


never miss another post!

2019 HMG TRAVELS THE WORLD ALL RIGHTS RESERVED